Return to EYFS Curriculum

Curriculum Statement

The care and education of children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) follows statutory requirements and guidance given by the government.

The Early Years Foundation Stage

This is the statutory framework for all children aged between 0 and 5 years. It provides a framework for the safeguarding, learning and development of all children attending Weston Way Nursery School.
The learning and development requirements are organised into 7 areas of learning with developmental stages that describe the typical development expected of children within each stage.

At Weston Way Nursery School staff plan activities to ensure the children make good progress towards the early learning goals that they are expected to reach by the end of their Reception year. All children are supported to make the best possible progress from their starting points.

How young children learn:

The children will experience a range of activities indoors and outdoors, whatever the weather to develop skills, knowledge and independence. They learn actively within an established routine. We have a notice board that gives weekly information about the themes the children are working on and some of the activities they will be experiencing.

In all areas of learning there is a strong emphasis on active learning, play and exploration, and creating and thinking critically.

More information can be found on:

The 7 areas of learning within the Learning and Development requirements are:

3 Prime Areas of Learning :

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematical
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

Please see the link below for the families guide to how your child/children learn and develop through the early years foundation stage: